Questions for a Bookworm

Hot Chocolate & Computers

There’s nothing more shocking to a bookworm than the revelation that lots of people get by without reading books. How does that happen, you ask? I have no idea: I’m a bookworm, you see, and people’s ability to not read is something that I simply can’t comprehend. If you know someone like me, I’m sure you’ve been told how indispensable books are to leading a fulfilling life; how they’re the best companions you can have. When its cold outside, you wrap yourself up in blankets, place a thermos full of hot chocolate at your elbow and read. When it’s sunny outside, you sit on your balcony or porch with a cool drink in a glass and read. When you’re alone, you read because it alleviates loneliness. When you’re surrounded by people, you read because it’s one of the few solitary pleasures left in life.  No matter what situation you find yourself in, a good book is an indescribable comfort.

Feeling as I do about books – that they do more than just furnish rooms – when I saw this post by Cassie over at Books and Bowel Movements, I thought it would be fun to answer these questions myself. These are the original questions for a book worm. You might also want to see how other bloggers – bookgrrl and Her Library Adventures – have answered them.

Imagine you sit in front of a fireplace. You read and beside you there is a cup with something hot in it. What would that be in your case: tea, coffee or hot chocolate?

A few years ago,  suppose I might have said ‘hot chocolate’, because that is the drink one associates with a cozy fireplace scenario. However, since I started drinking green tea a few years ago, I’ve discovered how much more refreshing it is. It doesn’t weigh me down and helps me stay alert and I certainly would want to stay alert while I read a book.

If an author gave you the chance to rewrite or to change the fate of a book character, who would you chose?

I think I would give the Little Mermaid her voice, two legs and her prince. I agree that the story will no longer be as romantic or poignantly beautiful as the original, but at least the poor sweet thing will be spared a lot of pain.

Did your parents read stories to you when you were little? if yes, are there any special ones you remember the most?

No, nobody read me stories as a child. However, my maternal grandmother used to tell me stories from Indian mythology.

What do you like more the smell of old antiquarian books or the smell of new fresh ones you just bought?

Old books come with so many stories, not just the ones that are printed on their pages. I love that about them, and I think their unique smells say a lot about who’s touched them and where they’ve been. For me, personally, old books have a lot more appeal because they remind me of the time I discovered my grandfather’s collection of old books. It was one of the best afternoons of my life.

You get the opportunity to chose between two secret talents: either to be able to make things come to life through reading them or the gift to read yourself into a book. Which one would you like to have?

I think I would like to read myself into a book. Then I can always get back to the real world when I want to. I’m not sure it would be easy to get a fictional character back into their world – what if they liked it here too much?

Do you have a favorite children’s book or a favorite fairy tale?

Knock Three Times by Marion St. John Webb. Not a lot of people seem to have heard of this one. It’s one of the most thrilling and chilling books I read as a child, and certainly better than much of the tosh that Enid Blyton churned out.

Someone would talk to your friends and ask them to compare you to a book character. With whom do you think would they compare you?

Probably Arjun (from the Mahabharata). I’m in a permanent state of doubt.

Tell me the name of a writer whom you would like to have as a friend.

Orhan Pamuk, turkish novelist. The photo is de...

Image via Wikipedia

Orhan Pamuk – he’s so articulate and knowledgeable about his craft. Just like I could keep reading his books, I think I can keep listening to him talk. I’m sure I could learn a lot from him. Also Stephen King and Margaret Atwood: they seem like the witty, straight-talking type and I love people like that.

You can hide in a written down world for only one night. Into which world do you escape?

I think I would read myself into the world of PG Wodehouse. I would risk meeting aunts as fearsome as dragons and potty old dukes, but then I would also meet delightful idiots like Bertie Wooster and Freddie Widgeon and that irrepressible schemer, Stanley Featherstonehaugh Ukridge.

Something terrible happens: you have to flee to an unknown place and all you can take with you are three books of all the ones you own. Which three ones do you put into your bag?

Weekend Wodehouse, because I know I’ll get depressed and I’ll need cheering up. Other Colours by Orhan Pamuk because that’s the textbook I would follow when I need to understand literature and its many purposes. The Mahabharata, because that’s a thousand stories in one and it never gets old.

3 thoughts on “Questions for a Bookworm

  1. Pingback: You Inspired Me…To Read! « jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

Leave a Reply

