Climbing Mount TBR with a few Chunksters on my back

Cover of "The Eagle's Throne"

Cover of The Eagle's Throne

I’ve spoken before of my inability to stop buying books. The result: a veritable mountain of Books To Be Read Sometime in the Near or Distant Future. How appropriate then, that there’s something called the Mount TBR Reading Challenge 2012 being hosted by Bev over at My Reader’s Block. I’m signing up to read at least 25 books from the TBR pile, so climbing Mt Vancouver, I will be.

Books from Mount TBR that need to be tackled are:

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Sea of Poppies/River of Smoke by Amitav Ghosh

The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

The Scar by China Mieville

A Severed Head/The Black Prince/The Sea, the Sea by Iris Murdoch

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

Tropic of Capricorn by Henry Miller

The Eagle’s Throne by Carlos Fuentes

2666 by Roberto Bolano

The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffeneggar

The Melancholy of Resistance by Laszlo Krasznahorkai

The Second Sex by Simone de Beauvoir

The Stranger at the Palazzo by Paul Theroux

The Journals of John Cheever

The Diamond as Big as the Ritz by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Baulsphere by Mimlu Sen

Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron by Jai Arjun Singh

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingslover

The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer

The Naive and Sentimental Novelist by Orhan Pamuk

The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin

Also, since at least six of the books I have listed above qualify as Chunksters (450 pages or more of adult literature), I figured I might as well take on the 2012 Chunkster Challenge being hosted by Wendy and Vasilly at Chunkster Reading Challenge. With this post, I hereby commit to the Plump Primer level of commitment, which means I need to read at least six fat back-breakers. Yes, y’all please feel free to laugh at me when I have managed to finish just one chunkster by the end of the year.

4 thoughts on “Climbing Mount TBR with a few Chunksters on my back

  1. You have a great-looking stack of books. I’ve read a lot of positive reviews about many of the books you’ve listed. I see that you’re hoping to read The Journals of John Cheever. I plan on reading The Stories of John Cheever for both challenges so I can’t wait to read your thoughts on it. Thanks for signing up for the Chunkster Challenge. Good luck and happy reading!

    P.S. I love the title of this post! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

