New Year, New Resolutions

Cover of "The Museum of Innocence"

Cover of The Museum of Innocence

I’m wondering…is it worth it? Making New Year Resolutions, I mean. I was 10 books short of my 2011 resolution to read 52 books within the year. 42 isn’t really a bad number…some of the books were long and tedious (Such a Long Journey), while others were complex in the extreme (The Museum of Innocence). Mostly though, they were all very rewarding and I certainly don’t feel awful that I couldn’t meet the challenge I had set for myself. Better luck this year, I suppose.

Anyway, in order to bring 2011 – The Year in Reading to a proper conclusion, I provide the list of books which I did complete, but which I didn’t get around to writing about.

1) The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith

2) The Museum of Innocence by Orhan Pamuk

3) Treasure Island by RL Stevenson

4) On Writing by Stephen King

5) The Female of the Species by Joyce Carol Oates

6)Lady Chatterley’s Lover by DH Lawrence

7)The Beast by Syed Muhammad Ashraf

8)Inez by Carlos Fuentes

9)My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead edited by Jeffrey Eugenides

10) Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder

11) Bonjour Tristesse by Francoise Sagan

12) A Year in Provence by Peter Mayle

And yes, 52 books is the goal this year too. The book I’m currently reading, 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami is a carry-over from December 2011, but I think I’ll count it as the first book of 2012. Is that fair?

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Resolutions

  1. 42 is great and now you have a goal of next year! My copy of Lady Chatterly’s Lover is covered in water marks but I still love it. : ) How’d you like the book?

    • I enjoyed it a lot, which really surprised me, since I hadn’t really liked Women in Love. I also didn’t expect it to be quite as graphic as it was, even though I knew it was one of the most challenges books in the world. But I didn’t find any of it vulgar at all. It’s probably one of the most romantic books I’ve read.

Leave a Reply

