The Desperate Reader

Cover of "A Visit from the Goon Squad"

Cover of A Visit from the Goon Squad

I have signed up for a challenge that once seemed impossible: to read 10 books in one month. In the old days of employment, I would barely manage to fit in four books a month, and even then, I couldn’t say that I read more than two of them with any great focus or enjoyment. But, since life is short and I have a ‘To Be Read’ list as long as the Bandra-Worli Sea-link, I took on this challenge officially. And If I don’t manage to meet this challenge head on and make it say ‘uncle’, may there be egg on my face. For purposes of full disclosure, below is a list of the books I intend to read, not counting Lady Chatterley’s Lover, which I began reading at the end of last month.

The Golden Gate by Vikram Seth
The Secret of the Nagas by Amish
A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
The Beast by Syed Muhammad Ashraf
Inez by Carlos Fuentes
This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Rabbit, Run by John Updike
The Middleman by Shankar
My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead ed. by Jeffrey Eugenides
Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron by Jai Arjun Singh

2 thoughts on “The Desperate Reader

  1. Tell me if this happens to you- You get a lot of books hoping to read them, but sometimes well… you just ignore them for the longest time. I’ve not read at least half of the books in my collection. Its like i keep adding new ones, keep reading them and somehow forget the old ones on the way. But have got back to reading a few old ones now.

  2. Arvind, it happens to me all the time! I still have books that I bought in 2008 which I still haven’t read! I have a serious hoarding problem, which could someday lead to an empty bank account and no place to walk in my flat 😛

Leave a Reply

