Between Books

I’m taking a bit of a break after having read two books that deserve really long posts. The first one was The Fairy Tales of Charles Perrault by Angela Carter and the second one was Beautiful Thing by Sonia Faleiro. The respective posts will be up soon; in fact, my post on Fairy Tales is almost ready. I just need to tweak it a little. Beautiful Thing will take a bit more work. It was a lovely, heart-breaking read and a wonderful piece of journalism. I haven’t felt this weighed down since I read In Cold Blood last year.

Anyway, I felt I needed a bit of a break and I couldn’t quite decide what to pick up next. It’s not like the books were bad; they were terrific, in fact. and pulled me in a little too much. So my next choice would obviously have to be something relatively impersonal. At the moment, the best option appears to be Samanth Subramanian’s Following Fish – an exploration of Indian coastal cultures through the centrepiece of all their culinary traditions: fish. Sounds light and fun, without being too flippant and deals with one of my favourite topics ever, food.

Leave a Reply

