Last Ditch Attempt

>As the title of the post says, this is one last ditch attempt to keep my blog running. In this space, which is currently weeding over due to neglect and is a victim of my unbounded laziness, I will document my self-imposed project of reading 52 books in 52 weeks. The 52 Books, 52 Weeks challenge is a fairly popular one with book bloggers, and it’s an idea that I’ve been toying with since I stumbled upon the concept sometime last year. I liked it instantly, because given the erratic reading habit I had built up over the last couple of years, I was really struggling to enjoy the one thing I’ve enjoyed all my life – reading books.
In the last few months of 2010, I put in a good deal of intensive reading and once I took an inventory of the books I had read that year, I notched up a decent 27 books. I’ve got the pace going now – I’m reading almost a book per week – and I think this is a challenge I’m going to enjoy. The plan, so far, is to try and read a book every week of the year. The ‘one book per week’ thing is merely for convenience. I’m not a complete idiot and I realize that certain books do take longer to read than others. But the point is that at the end of the year, on December 31 2011, I will have read 52 books.
I intend to blog about each of the books that I read. A picture of cover, the name (of course), number of pages and publishing house will all be part of the post. I’ll also try and write a little bit about how I feel about each of the books that I read. I’m currently reading The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood (I finished my last book of 2010, Isabel Allende’s Eva Luna on the evening of December 31, on my way to my New Year’s Eve party, so I think this bodes well for my project).

One thought on “Last Ditch Attempt

  1. Pingback: Just another Banned Books post « Bibliofanatique

Leave a Reply

