Loving to Hate Aishwarya Rai

What is it about Aishwarya Rai that attracts so many brickbats? She’s incredibly beautiful, has got a great figure and can, when she puts in the effort, act well.
I’ve thought about this (yeah, yeah..I’m jobless!) and have reached the conclusion that it’s because she is the quintessential Ice Princess that she is so maligned and excoriated. I mean, come on….has anyone seen her lose control..ever? She’s always so poised and perfect…is there no way of getting under her skin? And with regard to her relationships…why doesn’t she ever publicly admit to them? That kind of an admission would humanize her to an extent by showing that she is quite capable of falling in love and giving in to other such ‘earthy’ emotions. It is her silence on the subject of her relationships that deprives her of any commiseration she might be entitled to when her relationships go bust. Vivek (or is it Viveik? Neva mind!) Oberoi might be a bit of an ass and Salman Khan may be a Brat-Prince, but lets face it…they were the ones who got away with all the public sympathy when their relationships with Ash went to ‘lie with the fishes’.
Of course, Ash’s love-life is her personal matter and one has to commend her for maintaining grace under fire. She has never publicly reacted to any statements made about her, negative or otherwise and this speaks volumes about her professionalism.
Sometimes I think Hating Aishwarya Rai is a fad, rather like wearing long, gypsy skirts or worshipping the i-pod. Its something that people just do…maybe to show that they prefer ‘women of substance’ like Sushmita Sen. Or as my mother says, some might just be jealous of how beautiful she is and because she, rather than more accomplished actors, is invited to sit on the Cannes jury or as a guest on Oprah Winfrey’s show.
However, the bright side is (for Ash) that she has just as many fans as she has critics. And as long as her PR machinery runs smoothly, she will stay in the news. Whether it is negative or positive news doesn’t matter…after all, any publicity is good publicity!
12 thoughts on “Loving to Hate Aishwarya Rai

  1. I dont think I am jealous of her beauty though!!! And I agree with u… I dont know why I dont like her, but I do!!! She seems rather plastic to me!!!

  2. LOL! I sefinitely wouldn’t expect you to be jealous of her beauty, blessy-boy! If you were….*rolling on the floor with laughter*

  3. I think she is just a piece of bitter bubblegum wrapped up in a very attractive shiny wrapper. u know any ash hate clubs btw…

  4. I’d probably be president of ‘Ash is Over-Hyped Club’ if there were one…but I don’t know of any Ash Hate Clubs!

  5. i hate ash to the dirt she is well the damnest person i hate (before brad pitt,angelina jolie, well i m a jen fan u see, even i hate ash more than my IT teacher u see) she is all i can say PLASTIC, POSER and that FAKE laughter or the stupid giggle u say i hate everythin abt her i would luv 2 bitch her the whole day and i m no vivek,salman or abhi fan its just that the sight of ash makes me vomit atleast a london critic said right there is no washier, wimpier actress than aishwarya rai, that *&$####**%$

  6. Hey hey now, don’t diss my Brangelina couple! Go Angie. Jen and Brad were over a long time before they divorced. Oh well.

    Anyways, I’m not jealous Aish..just something about her grates me the wrong way. She appears fake and always seems to be trying to hard.

  7. It’s not about jealousy. No one likes a snob! If a hot guy was a snob, I would be too drawn into his beauty to realize too. I could just imagine what a true icon she could be if she had a beautiful soul. But all the attention she gets corrupts her. She seriously acts like she’s better than everyone! Tossing her hair and swaying her hips, with her obnoxious royal laugh, be more humble will you!? It’s not the features of her face but the content of her character that matters most.

  8. It’s not about jealousy. No one likes a snob! If a hot guy was a snob, I would be too drawn into his beauty to realize too. I could just imagine what a true icon she could be if she had a beautiful soul. But all the attention she gets corrupts her. She seriously acts like she’s better than everyone! Tossing her hair and swaying her hips, with her obnoxious royal laugh, be more humble will you!? It’s not the features of her face but the content of her character that matters most.

    • really amazed at the attributes you associate to conclude she is a snob. u are seeing her on TV, most probably on some events. and who doesnt toss their hair, sway their hips there blah blah…Do u know how much of a fake accent madhuri has. I live in US for a period of time more than what madhuri has been married and settled for. never got that shitty accent nor do any of the indians here. but quite honestly hate is too strong a word .. and how did u conclude is she is corrupted.. I for one have never heard ash bitching about anyone(kareena has, bips has) or doing any sort of politics, kindly can u direct me to her interviews where she has offended anyone..fake laugh yes.. a bit obnoxious . comon’ ..get a life.. I think I am willing to ignorethat. her contributions on being recognised globally as an Indian outweigh small things like fake laughs etc.. maybe I expect people to be annoyed by fakeness sometimes but hate is just too strong a word

  9. we were talking about her high-pitched giggle today and god does she shriek – her mouth opens with screechy sirens and thats all one could hear – a scream with no end in sight

    that voice makes rani’s husky one sound sexy and that girl ain’t even the looker ash is

Leave a Reply

